Grain News

NAMA President Mary Waters Elected First Chair of K-State Grain Science and Industry Advisory Council

Date Posted: May 3, 2012

Washington, DC—Mary Waters, President of the North American Millers' Association (NAMA), was elected the first Chair of the Kansas State University (KSU) Department of Grain Science and Industry (GSI) Advisory Council.

The Advisory Council provides counsel to the faculty, staff and students regarding the department’s teaching, research and outreach missions, as well as support for special projects such as strategic planning and student recruitment, scholarship assistance and job placement, fundraising, and promotion of the department.

David Krejci, GEAPS executive vice president, was elected Vice Chair.

Dr. Dirk Maier, head of the Department of Grain Science and Industry has brought together a diverse group of stakeholders that led to the formal creation of the Advisory Council.

“Dirk has sought input from a terrific group of grain industry leaders who are committed to the success of the grain industry.

"I look forward to working with Dave and the others to help the Department fulfill its mission of teaching, research and outreach,” stated Waters.

NAMA has a long history of advising and supporting the GSI, including creating the NAMA Milling Science and Advisory Committee to regularly meet with faculty and students, funding a scholarship program and, most recently, funding the first NAMA Instructor of Milling.

Many NAMA members provide significant support to the Department and the students.

It is the only university program in the United States that provides a degree program to teach the next generation of millers.

NAMA is the trade association of the wheat, corn, oat and rye milling industries.

Member companies operate 176 wheat, oat and corn mills in 38 states and Canada.

For more information, call 202-484-2200, ext. 11.

See Related Websites/Articles:

more GRAIN NEWS...