Grain News

CHS Board Member Named Coop Director of the Year

Date Posted: March 7, 2014

Washington, DC—The National Council of Farmer Cooperatives (NCFC) has awarded its prestigious Director of the Year award to Curt Eischens, a farmer director of CHS Inc., the nation’s leading farmer-owned cooperative and a global energy, grains and foods company.

CHS is a co-op member of NCFC.

Eischens has served on the CHS board for 23 years, and in that time has become a highly respected leader, both in the boardroom and in the countryside.

A corn and soybean farmer from near Minneota, Minn., he also serves on the board of Farmers Co-op Association in nearby Canby, Minn., and has chaired that board for eight years.

“Curt is someone who is respected widely across the farmer co-op community and this award is recognition of that fact. On behalf of NCFC and our members, I would like to congratulate him on his achievement,” said NCFC President and CEO Chuck Conner.

“During his tenure on the CHS board, Curt has shown the leadership, good business judgment and dedication to cooperatives that has won him recognition from his peers across the country, far outside the CHS boardroom.”

The Farmer Cooperative Director of the Year Award was established to recognize the outstanding achievements of a farmer cooperative director who takes the lead to help their board of directors make decisions vital to their cooperative.

The award was presented on Thursday, Feb. 13, 2014, at NCFC’s 85th Annual Meeting, which was held at the Roosevelt Hotel in New Orleans, La.

Farmer Cooperative Director of the Year nominees were examined by a panel of judges representing the NCFC members and outside experts.

In selecting the winners, judges looked at four broad criteria: how well the nominee understands his or her cooperative; the ability to provide leadership and be a team player; the possession of good business judgment; and the ability to communicate effectively.

To honor award winners, the NCFC Foundation provides a $5,000 donation to the scholarship fund of a land grant university chosen by the winner.

Eischens has designated the University of Minnesota as recipient.

For more information, call 651-355-4946.

See Related Websites/Articles:

more GRAIN NEWS...