Grain News

North Dakota Grain Dealers Assn. Education Foundation Names Scholarship Winners and Elects Officers

Date Posted: October 11, 2012

The North Dakota Grain Dealers Educational Foundation has announced the names of its scholarship winners for the 2012-2013 academic year.

Eight students will receive $750 scholarships.

Award winners, hometowns, colleges and curriculums in which the students are enrolled are as follows:

Dickinson State University at Dickinson, ND

Christina Jacobson, Max, ND in Agricultural Studies

North Dakota State University at Fargo, ND

Derek Aho, Antler, ND in Ag Systems Management

Andrew Easton, Fargo, ND in Plant Science

Daniel Landman, Northwood, ND in Agricultural Studies

Ethan Olsen, Mandan, ND in Agribusiness

Tiffany Swanson, Northwood Young America, MN in Agricultural Economics

Kaitlin VanHorn, Donnelly, MN in Agricultural Economics

Katherine Woodbury, Stanley, ND in Agricultural Economics

The Foundation also awarded a grant of $948 to the NDSU College of Agriculture, Food Systems and Natural Resources for a four volume DVD set for the Department of Soil Science.

Current Directors and Officers were re-elected at the Foundations recent annual meeting.

Paul Lautenschlager was re-elected President.

Paul is the Manager at Beach Co-op Grain Co. at Beach, ND and President of the North Dakota Grain Dealers Association.

Roger Wagner was re-elected Vice President.

Roger is the Manager at Grafton Farmers Co-op Grain Co. at Grafton, ND and a Director of the North Dakota Grain Dealers Association.

Re-elected as Directors were Steve Hepper, Grain Merchandiser at Hubbard Feeds, Inc. at Bismarck, ND and a Director of the North Dakota Grain Dealers Association; Joel Janke, Public Relations Officer of the ND FFA Foundation, Bismarck, ND; and Elton Solseng, Instructor, Agricultural Systems Management at NDSU.

Steve Strege and Cheryal Welle both of Fargo, serve as Executive Vice President and Executive Assistant respectively.

They each hold the same offices with the North Dakota Grain Dealers Association.

The Foundation was incorporated in 1980 by the North Dakota Grain Dealers Association to promote agribusiness education in North Dakota. Primary emphasis is on students entering the grain marketing industry or other agribusiness.

The Foundation has now awarded over $184,000 in scholarships and instructional aid grants over thirty-two academic years.

Students interested in obtaining more information or applications for next year's award should contact the Foundation office at 1325 23rd Street South Suite A, Fargo, ND 58103-3723.

For more information, call 701-235-4184.

See Related Websites/Articles:

more GRAIN NEWS...