Grain News

USDA Names Grain Inspection Advisory Committee Members

Date Posted: January 16, 2013

Washington—On November 26, 2012, Agriculture Secretary Thomas J. Vilsack announced the appointment of four members to serve on the United States Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) Grain Inspection Advisory Committee.

The appointees will serve a 3-year term.

“I am pleased that these individuals have agreed to serve on the Grain Inspection Advisory Committee,” said Vilsack.

“They bring a great deal of knowledge and experience to this committee.”

The new members are: Janice Cooper, executive director, California Wheat Commission, Woodland, Calif.; Walter McAninch, owner/operator, Tonkawa, Okla.; Arvid Hawk, president, Global Agricultural Consulting, LCC, Eden Prairie, Minn.; and Maria Reinitz, manager, Gavilon, LLC, Omaha, Neb.

The Grain Inspection Advisory Committee is comprised of 15 members appointed by the Secretary of Agriculture who represent all facets of the grain industry.

The Grain Inspection Advisory Committee meets twice annually to advise USDA on the establishment of programs and services under the United States Grain Standards Act.

For more information, call 202-205-8281.

See Related Websites/Articles:

more GRAIN NEWS...