Grain News

United Cooperative (WI) Returns $8 Million to Patron Members

Date Posted: April 23, 2013

Beaver Dam—During the April 15, 2013, 77th annual meeting of United Cooperative at the Juneau Community Center, Juneau, Wis., David Cramer, United Cooperative president and chief executive officer, addressed patron members about another successful year at United Cooperative.

“Sales for 2012 were $643 million, up $119 million from 2011. Our core cooperative business generated $25.8 million in profits, up $5.8 million from 2011.

"Our investments in ethanol did not perform as well as 2011, but still contributed $1.8 million in profits to our net income.” noted Cramer.

“In addition, patronage from our regional cooperatives equaled almost $6 million. Adding everything up, United Cooperative had a total net income after taxes of almost $35 million.

"This is the same as our record year in 2011.”

With these profitable numbers, United Cooperative is returning almost $20 million in total patronage to their members, with $8 million being paid in cash and the balance in equity credits.

The cash portion was mailed in April.

In addition, they plan to continue revolving stock in October, retire stock at age 77, and pay all estates as requested.

Nominating committee chair person, Steve Knoebel, Helenville, reviewed election results.

With no competition against the two incumbents, Tom Langenfeld, Eldorado, and Anthony Schadt, Watertown, these two board members were reelected to serve another term.

United Cooperative board chairman, Howard Bohl, introduced the 2013 United Cooperative Board of Directors: Brad Krueger, Shawano; Tom Langenfeld, Eldorado; Howard Bohl, chairman, Beaver Dam; Rod Leiterman, Denmark; Greg Tauchen, Bonduel (not present); Dan Swan, Beaver Dam; Duane Hinchley, Cambridge; Gary Nolden, vice chairman, Prairie du Sac; Robin Craker, secretary, Reedsburg; Anthony Schadt, Watertown; David Cramer, treasurer, Beaver Dam; and David Bischoff, Juneau.

Employees were recognized by Cramer for their years of outstanding service.

Employment anniversary dates were honored for 26 employees: John Jurecki, Matt Grueb, Larry Strauss, and Steve Bougie for 35 years; Roxann Rokicki for 30 years; Dennis Klumpers for 25 years; Mary Gauthier, Jerry Warmka; Nancy Stangel; Linda Branish; Sue Backhaus; John Reuter; Sally Shoemaker; and Scott Gwidt for 20 years; David Belter, Ken Grebel, Harold Giddley, Scott Herring, Karl Beth, and Brad Marthaler for 15 years; and Howard Engel, Tom George, Chad Smithyman, Emmett Hying, Steve Servais, and Kevin Williams for 10 years.

In addition, Carl Bruss, Richard Gwidt, David Vande Wettering, Rita Rosenbaum, Judy Manthei, Joyce Winkler, Jim Egen, and Jim Rush were all honored for their retirement after many years in the cooperative system.

United Cooperative also hosted two informational meetings: April 17, 2013, at the Rock Garden Comfort Suites, Green Bay, and April 18, 2013, at the Clarion Hotel, West Baraboo.

For more information, call 920-887-1756.

See Related Websites/Articles:

more GRAIN NEWS...