National Sorghum Producers Board of Directors Chairman Atkinson Appoints Four Members to NSP Legislative Committee

Lubbock, TX - National Sorghum Producers board of directors Chairman Dan Atkinson has appointed four new members to the NSP Legislative Committee and a new committee chairman.

The new Chairman of the NSP Legislative Committee is board Vice Chairman Kody Carson of Olton, Texas.

In addition to Carson, new members to the committee include Durward Dixon of Elida, New Mexico, Ethan Miller of Columbia, Missouri, and Chris Yaklin of Robstown, Texas.

These producers and 12 existing committee members will serve the sorghum industry, shaping future policy and guiding the organization on legislative matters in accordance with NSP’s mission to lead legislative and regulatory change through effective policy and relationships for a more profitable, diverse and competitive sorghum industry.

Their leadership will be of particular importance this year as work to complete the farm bill and create industry-benefiting trade deals persists.

The 2019 National Sorghum Producers Legislative Committee members are:

Kody Carson | Olton, Texas – Chairman

Mike Baker | Trenton, Nebraska

Mike Brooks | Walsh, Colorado

Durward Dixon | Elida, New Mexico

Brittan Gruhlkey | Wildorado, Texas

John Lowery | Rayville, Louisiana

Ethan Miller | Columbia, Missouri

Lance Russell | Hays, Kansas

Devin Schierling | Moundridge, Kansas

Adam Schindler | Reliance, South Dakota

Jim Sipes | Manter, Kansas

Samuel Sparks III | Mercedes, Texas

J.B. Stewart | Keyes, Oklahoma

John Williams | Enfield, Illinois

Kent Winter | Mount Hope, Kansas Chris Yaklin | Robstown, Texas

New committee members had their first meeting Oct. 3, 2018.

For more information, please contact Jennifer Blackburn at 806-749-3478 or